Board of Directors, Nomination Process & Past President's Honor Roll

CRA Board of Directors

Fred Bologna

Fred moved to Carmel in 2010 from Fresno where he taught Dance and Theatre at a Performing Arts High School and served as Artistic Director for the Fresno Ballet while restoring a 1909 historic home. He has directed, choreographed and acted in regional theater productions. He also serves as a board member on the Monterey County Theatre Alliance. 

 Tim Twomey


Tim grew up in the Bay Area, spent his career as a healthcare supply chain executive, and served as a board member on national, state and local associations. He graduated from San Francisco State University and worked for Stanford University Medical Center, Kaiser Permanente and Sutter Health. 

  Frankie Laney
Secretary - Board Member 

A native of San Francisco and graduate of San Francisco State University, Frankie and her husband ran an agri-business in the Sacramento River Delta town of Walnut Grove for 30 years before moving to Carmel in 1994.  A watercolor painter for over 50 years, she is a member of the Carmel Art Association and served on that Board in addition to the CRA Board, Carmel Cultural Commission and the Carl Cherry Center for the Arts Board. 

 Mary Condry
Board Member, Past President & The Voice Editorial Board

Mary has been an active member of the CRA since 1993, serving in many roles including two terms as president. As a professional tour guide in Carmel she enjoys meeting visitors from around the globe and sharing the traditions, natural beauty and unique architecture that make us Carmel unique and special.

Ken White
Board Member


Ken was a goodwill ambassador for the city and served as a member of the Forest and Beach and  Planning Commissions and the City Council before serving as mayor of Carmel-by-the-Sea from 1992 to 2000. For many years he was chair of Friends of Sunset Center and is the former President of Monterey County Pops. Ken often shares his knowledge and experience to assist business and residential groups. 

Janine Chicourrat
Board Member


Janine is general manager of the Portola Hotel & Spa, in Monterey. Janine moved to the community in 1998 to open up Casa Palmero at Pebble Beach. Her past general manager roles include The Lodge at Pebble Beach, Northstar at Tahoe and Kimpton Hotels, Monticello Inn.  Janine serves as chair on the Foundation Board for Cal State University Monterey Bay, board member for the Monterey County Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Monterey County Hospitality Association. 

Tom Parks
Board Member & The Voice Editorial Board


Tom spent 25 years in the television and movie industry before settling in Carmel 30 years ago. He then became a full-time writer and director and has produced more than 15 dramas, musicals and biographical sketches of major literary characters. He serves as an Editorial Board member and pens the "Village Voices" column. 

 Ann Nelson
Board Member


Ann grew up in Sierra Madre and became a high school English teacher. She married Bob Nelson, a lawyer, and retired from teaching while raising three children in Berkeley. She later became a travel agent, retiring when her first grandchild was born. She and Bob moved to Carmel in 2010 which they have enjoyed immensely. She has previously served as CRA's Secretary.  

  Daniel Cardenas
Board Member

Leaving his career as Advertising/Publicity Manager for Warner Bros., Daniel & his partner Eric Wynkoop moved to Carmel to pursue careers as realtor and architect, respectively. Daniel heads up the CRA's Carmel Beach's Cleanup efforts and chaired the highly acclaimed CRA 2019 Carmel Citizen of the Year event. 

 Jon Wolfe
Board Member


Jon is a native of the state of Washington and he earned bachelor and master degrees in social work from the University of Washington. His primary career has been in gerontology. Jon has served on boards and commissions for national, state and local governments and non-profit organizations and is committed to protecting our environment and our beautiful natural places.  Jon has previously served as CRA's Treasurer. 

 Graeme Robertson
Board Member 

Graeme immigrated here in 1965 with his parents from Scotland when he was 6, then attending Carmel's River School, Middle School and High School. After completing college at San Diego State, Graeme's career was in sales and marketing, with Gallo Winery, PepsiCo, Wiman Beverage Company, Vinco, Platinum Partnership and Merrill Lynch.  He has served in leadership roles on boards, organizations and foundations throughout Carmel and was honored in 2018 as the Carmel Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year.

 Sherry Williams
Board Member

Born and raised in the Livermore California area, Sherry's collegiate path included UCSB BA in Social Sciences and at San Jose State she completed her Masters in various aspects of Education.  She married, raised two daughters, and taught, plus did a stint as a flight attendant in various years and more.   Since Sherry and her husband moved to Carmel, she has volunteered in many CRA events over the years, plus for many other activities and organizations about town. 

  Cindy Lloyd
Board Member

A true Carmel native, Cindy is the 3rd of 4 children in a family with deep local legacy.  Her childhood best friend was her botanist Grandfather Prof. F.E. Lloyd and they enjoyed walks together to town.  After Cindy's local education, then on to University, she landed back in Carmel Valley raising 2 children.  She then completed Hartnell Nursing School and a long career at CHOMP.  More recently, her passions include gardening and working to preserve Carmel's character in the family's tradition.

 Nancy Twomey
Board Member, Communications, Membership & The Voice Editorial Board

Raised in Portland Oregon, then on to Silicon Valley as she built her career in Technology firms in leadership roles across Marketing, Partnerships and Operations.  In the Bay Area, she met and married Tim - eventually retiring in their favorite vacation spot, Carmel-by-the-Sea.  Since arriving here full time in 2016, Nancy has been a committed volunteer across multiple organizations throughout town.  

Barbara Livingston  12/30/1928 to 2/23/2021
12 Years Past President  - May She Rest in Peace

Barbara has been a passionate advocate for the Village for many years, first arriving in Carmel-by-the-Sea in 1936 and graduating from Carmel High School and Stanford University. Her interest in city government led to three terms on the City Council and participation in the CRA led to her being President for 12 years.   
Here is a page of Barbara remembrances, articles and videos. 

New Board Member Nominations

Carmel Residents Association members nominate potential candidates for our Board, annually in the January-February period, announced in the January-February issue of The Voice.   Submissions are sent as a petition signed by three CRA members. This must be accompanied by a short paragraph focused on the person’s talents and interests in contributing to our Board.  Each petition must be received by March 1.  Nomination packets are sent to the nominating committee chair, Mary Condry at P.O. Box V, Carmel, CA 93921.  

Honor Role of Past CRA Presidents

1987-1988 Jim Holiday
1988-1989  Skip Lloyd
1989-1990  Barbara Brooks
1990-1992  Clayton Anderson
1992-1993  David Maradei
1993-1994  Beth Wright
1994-1995  Lou Rolle
1995-1997  Linda Anderson
1997-1998  Mary Condry
1998-1999  Suzanne Paboojian
1999-2000  Shirley Humann
2000-2001  Melanie Billig
2001-2002  Monte Miller
2002-2004  Larry Rodocker
2004-2006  Sherry Shollenbarger
2006-2008  Roberta Miller
2008-2020  Barbara Livingston - for more on Barbara and her legacy visit this page.
2020-____  Fred Bologna

Thank you one and all!   
   From Your CRA Membership